IPL 2022: Kevin Pietersen reveals his ‘Team of the Tournament’

Posted On / /
  • Kevin Pietersen has named his team of the tournament for IPL 2022.

  • Pietersen went with three players each from the finalists, Gujarat Titans and Rajasthan Royals.

IPL 2022: Kevin Pietersen reveals his ‘Team of the Tournament’
Kevin Pietersen picks his team of the tournament for IPL 2022 (Image Source: Twitter)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 was completed on Sunday when Gujarat Titans (GT) defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) to win the title in their maiden season at Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad.

After the conclusion of the fifteenth season of the cash-rich league, many experts of the game have come up with their team of the tournament. Latest to join the bandwagon is former England batter Kevin Pietersen.

The English cricket legend, who had spent time in Mumbai and Pune for the commentary duties, picked three players from the finalists’ Titans and Royals, two from Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), and one each from Punjab Kings (PBKS), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Starting with the openers, Pietersen went with Jos Buttler and Quinton de Kock. Notably, Buttler won the orange cap as he finished IPL 2022 with 863 runs to his name, including four centuries. De Kock, on the other hand, was third on the list of leading run-getters, with 508 runs in 15 games.

When it comes to the middle and lower middle-order, Pietersen picked the likes of KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Liam Livingstone, David Miller and Rahul Tewatia. Rahul (616 runs), Pandya (487 runs), Livingstone (437 runs), Miller (481 runs) and Tewatia (217 runs) all made notable contributions to their respective teams this year.

On the bowling front, the cricketer-turned-commentator named the spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal along with the pace pair of Umran Malik and Josh Hazlewood. Chahal won the purple cap this year after finishing with 27 wickets to his name in 17 matches. Similarly, Ashwin (12), Malik (22) and Hazlewood (20) have also had a memorable season with the ball.

Here is Kevin Pietersen’s IPL 2022 ‘Team of the Tournament’:

Jos Buttler, Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Liam Livingstone, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Josh Hazlewood.

TAGS: , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.